top of page
  • Writer's pictureSpeak Your Roots

The different kinds of "Kwai" (Areca or Betel nut)

" 'Wáikaa" is kwai that is still on the branches of the tree.

" 'Wáinat" is kwai that has been plucked from the tree but it has not yet been removed from the bunch.

" 'Wáiphiah" is kwai that has been cut into two or four pieces and that is to be divided and distributed. This kwai is also given to the bridegroom and his relatives by the bride's uncle on the wedding day. The two parties meet at a designated spot before the wedding as the bridegroom is on the way to the ceremony. This giving of kwai is symbolic of the welcome given to the bridegroom.

" 'Wáikhaw" or " 'wái-im" is kwai that is the new batch of nuts that still have the outer skin intact. This kwai is eaten in the winter.

" 'Wáiskop" is kwai that has been soaked and immersed in water for some time so that it is preserved, with the outer skin becoming fibrous. This kwai is eaten in the summer.

" 'Wáikhud" is kwai that has been peeled and cleaned.

" 'Wáidong" is kwai that has been folded and rolled with betel leaf.

" 'Wáidung" is kwai and betel leaf that has been ground especially for old people.

" 'Wailing" contains two kwai (kwai synrap or twins) nuts in one covering.

Our beloved "Kwai" 😄❤️ what would we do without you? A staple in all Khasi homes, it is a family member who cannot be forgotten 😀 Immortalised in Khasi folklore, it is an iconic part of Khasi life, culture and community.
Picture: Google (The kwai in the picture is 'Wái-im)

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page